User Management

Introduction

Website's users may include leaders, executive members, administrators, parents and friends of the group. Users may be assigned the rights to view and/or administer website pages.



Workflow

There are two ways in which a user may be setup.


Pre-register Users

Leaders and parents may be pre-registered and invited to complete their registry.


Site Admin

  • Add user in user Management + click [save & send invitation email]

User

  • Received invitation email
  • On Login page, enter email address + click [request registry]
  • User receives password in email
  • On Login page, enter email address and temporary password + click [Login]
  • Enter a new password + click [change password & login]

User Requests Registry

A site visitor may request registry from the Login page.


User

  • Enters email address + [request registry]
  • This will send a registry request email to Site Admin user(s)

Site Admin

  • Receives registry request email
  • Add the user in User Management + [save & send invitation email]
  • This will send an email to the new user to indicate that they may know complete their registry

User

  • Received invitation email
  • On Login page, enter email address + click [request registry]
  • User receives password in email
  • On Login page, enter email address and temporary password + click [Login]
  • Enter a new password + click [change password & login]


User Management Page

Site Admin users will find the User Management page on the Admin menu. This page allows the creation of user logins for leaders, parents and friends of the group.

User Management List

Click an [Amend] button to view, update or delete a user's details.

Click the [Add New] button to add a user to your site.

The Search box and button allow you to filter the users listed. Any user with the text within thier first name, surname, first and surname combines or email address will be listed.




User Details

Your package level will dictate which tabs and fields you see in the details page.

Add New User

The Email address is mandatory and will become the user's username. Once the user is created, it is not possible to change the email address.

Where present, the [Import] button may retrieve the user details from a parent District. This is only possible if your District or County also has a Scouts Online website.

The First Name and Surname fields are mandatory.

The Telephone No. and Mobile No. fields may be displayed when drilling down to the user from within a Meet The Team page, if your website package level includes this feature.


The Privacy Settings fields allow you to hide personal and contact details from public viewing.


The Biography space allows you to provide more information about the leader when a website visitor clicks the user's photograph/image in the Meet The Team page.


Don't forget to click the [Save] button on the Header Details tab after making changes.

Clicking the [save & send invitation email] on the Header Details tab will send an email to the new user, to indicate that they may now complete their registry and login.




Add New User

Scouting Role Details

For group leaders or executive members, populating the Scouting Role and ticking a Team will show the user in a Meet The Team page.

The user's Scouting Role may be selected from the list, but their actual description of the role MAY be overridden by populating the Role Description field.

The Team Membership tick box fields should be ticked if the user is a leader within each/any of the sections/group.



Website View and Administrative Rights

The View column defines which private sectional pages the user will be able to see.

The Admin column defines which sections the user will be able to maintain content for. Site Admin indicates that the user will be able to amend all site content and will receive all contact form details via email. In the example above, the user will only be able to maintain content within the /Sections/Beavers/ pages.

If the Content Edit Mode tick box is ticked, Site or Section Admin users will see [Edit] buttons when viewing site pages to enable content management. This will be ticked automatically when saving a new user with Section or Site Admin rights.

The Generic User field allows you to create a user for many parents or leaders to use. E.g. 1stScoutParent@hotmail.co.uk. When ticked the user will not be able to change the password or be offered the forgotten password functionality. If you would like to change the password from time-to-time, un-tick the field, save the user, logout and then use the forgotten password button from the Members/Login page.




Add New User

The Photograph tab allows an image to be uploaded/assigned to the user. For more information about this tab, please refer to the File Manager documentation.